Four New Schools for Ipswich

5th of November 2014

Four New Schools for Ipswich

Council has recently been advised by the Department of Education, Training and Employment that the contract has been awarded to 'Plenary Schools' as the consortium to deliver a package of 10 new schools in South East Queensland via a Public Private Partnership (PPP). This program is commonly referred to as the Schools PPP Project.

The package that Plenary Schools is required to deliver consists of eight Prep - Year 6 primary schools and two Years 7 - 12 secondary schools in rapidly developing areas in South East Queensland (ie Gold Coast, Ipswich and the Moreton Bay local government areas).

Under the PPP agreement, the consortium will design, construct, commission, finance, maintain and provide facilities management for the services for the package of schools over a concession period of 30 years.

Four out of the 10 schools that are planned to be delivered are to be located in Ipswich.

The selected areas comprise:

  • One Primary School (Prep - Year 6) located within the Sovereign Pocket Estate at Deebing Heights;
  • One Primary School (Prep - Year 6) located within the Fernbrooke Ridge Estate at South Redbank Plains;
  • One Primary School (Prep - Year 6) to be located at Spring Mountain (Springfield Estate);
  • One Secondary School (Years 7 - 12) located at Jones Road, Bellbird Park within the Brentwood Forest Estate.

To facilitate the development of these schools, the Queensland Government has announced that it intends to undertake a Community Infrastructure Designation (CID) process for each school.

Council will continue to work closely with the relevant stakeholders in order to support the CID process so as to ensure appropriate outcomes for the community.